fortune teller

click, clamber & it backfires

swerves, my solstice milkmaid sails

on a dreamy seafoam bed of nails

lathers in the hungry chorus

of a hundred haunted fingers

lets them pluck a symphony of her bones

you are spring now; you are ruby

salve. dead petals on charred bread

the witch’s secret

you are not the ghost of winter laying bare

& inky dark inside the ashes of a house of cards

but the silver lining stepping

out of the graveyard & onto their toes


words = samantha lucero 2016 ©
image = laura makabresku.

12 comments

  1. One of my favorite writers, Sam Lucero amazing me every time she posts. Thank you Sam for doing what is natural to you. We all appreciate it!

    1. So glad I found a great tribe. Or rather, it found me!

  2. Reblogged this on Sudden Denouement Literary Collective and commented:
    Sam Lucero is amazing.

  3. Sam you are such a genius!!!

    1. I feel so shocked anytime someone enjoys my work. I think kept myself a reclusive too long.

      1. you sure did. You are a f$%^ing writer!!

      2. All the typos in my above comment reflect how soupy my brain is from listening to my twins whine all day. Sheesh. Lol.

  4. Reblogged this on RamJet Poetry and commented:
    Amazing, gripping write from Sam Lucero

  5. Gave me delightful shivers.

  6. This is beautiful. Such deeply rich and complex expression.

    1. Thank you. I’m still getting used to people liking them. I’m one of those hermit types.

reply

