suppliance of a minute – sam lucero

A Global Divergent Literary Collective

tumblr_mb690o96ue1qh9t3xo1_500.jpg

suppliance of a minute – sam lucero

when i was heaving in the mineral mirror
i saw you salting at the headstone grime
winking red-brick powder
clapping in the dragon’s blood

but tonight my heart is oozing metal
satin rupturing steel, bleached & fainting
you are motionless as the opaque acheron
bolting me back to my own misery
rooting me in tearful flickers of delight

& i see now how i live bright-black crumpled
in a phoenix pile of wing-shaped ash
for asymmetrical decades facedown, mourning
how the stars were strychnine
& my naive eyes consumed them raw


samantha lucero (sixredseeds)

View original post

7 comments

  1. Great finish in the five final lines.

    1. is it bad that i had to go back and re-read my final lines, because i had this pitiful glass of wine and am exhausted tonight? i also thought today was friday.

      1. Apparently everyone thought today was Friday. I know I did. Ah well. We’ll get it right tomorrow.

  2. Amazing work Sam. You stun me over and over again.

  3. I expect nothing in return. I love your blog and nominate you for the mystery blogger award. If you are award free take it as a shout out for the work you do on your blog! Happy New Year
    https://daisyinthewillows.wordpress.com/2016/12/31/mystery-solved/

    1. girl, i would have no idea how to give anything in return. lol. i am clueless about awards and nominations. looks to me like answering some questions. simple enough for me. i can do that. thanks for the recognition. it means a lot coming from someone so talented themselves.

      1. If you want to answer questions -please do. Make it your own. Make up your own rules 😀 Happy New year 🙂

reply

